Sarah Waters' "The Night Watch."

Sarah Waters’ “The Night Watch.”

I had never read a Sarah Waters book but discovered this title when I referred to a list I often turn to when I’m looking for something new to read. What a discovery! Waters has a remarkable talent for revealing her characters’ innermost thoughts, which makes for intriguing reading. The book focuses on four main characters, mostly women, whose lives are coincidentally intertwined during the bombing raids of London in World War II. The book starts from the present and works backward to tell the stories of these characters; and many of the passages, including a harrowing recounting of an unlawful medical procedure that goes awry, are emotional and riveting. I’m looking forward to reading another of this author’s books very soon. 

 

 

 

Sarah Waters

Sarah Waters

Leave a comment